How to collect user feedback with Google’s Free Website Satisfaction Survey tool

Tan Huei Suen
2 min readJun 10, 2022

--

I came across Google’s website satisfaction survey this week while using Google Tag Manager. At first glance, it reminds me of Hotjar’s feedback survey and I grew excited to try it out especially at a time where Hotjar’s prices are increasing.

What

Hotjar is a well known tool for UX designers to collect user feedback and present them in meaningful metrics UX strategists and management for the purpose of conducting UX Audits. I am hoping that Google’s website satisfaction survey matches up.

Free vs Paid

The biggest appeal to me is tool being free to use. But, this only applies to the following four questions:

  1. Overall, how satisfied are you with this website?
  2. What, if anything, do you find frustrating or unappealing about this website?
  3. What is your main reason for visiting this website today?
  4. Did you successfully complete your main reason for visiting this website today?

Additional custom surveys are $0.01 per complete. For my use, the free version is sufficient.

Setup

This was fairly simple. I only needed to copy and paste the script tag just before the closing </head> tag of the HTML page and click on ‘Activate Survey’.

Viewing the survey

If you pasted the code correctly, you would notice the survey on the bottom right hand side of the screen.

I intend to collect feedback results over the next 30 days to explore how this tool displays results. Do help me out by visiting my site and giving feedback!

Originally published at https://heysuen.com on June 10, 2022.

--

--